Department of Neurology 2020 WSU student awards for excellent performance

Dr. John T. McHenry Award:

  • Alyssa Nesbitt, Year IV Medical Student, WSU

Dr. John T. McHenry was a former acting Chairman of the Neurology Department and felt a special kinship with the School of Medicine at Wayne State University and its students. Upon his death, Dr. McHenry left a provision in his trust for a financial gift to establish the funds for this award. This award was designed to honor medical students for their excellent performance in Neurology.

Dr.  Narayan Verma Award:

  • Sean Johnson, Graduate Student, Pharmacology PhD program, WSU; PI – Dr. Sokol Todi
  • Erin Edwards, Graduate Student, TNP PhD program, WSU; PI – Dr. Nora Fritz
  • Sadaf Saba, Graduate Student, Molecular Genetics and Genomics PhD program, WSU;  PI – Dr. Jun Li

Dr. Narayan Verma received his Neurology training at Wayne State University Department of Neurology and served as Associate Professor of Neurology at Wayne State University until 1994. While working with the Department of Neurology, Dr. Verma led the Epilepsy Center of Michigan and led the Holden Laboratory; along with publishing many original articles. Dr. Verma created this endowed scholarship to encourage graduate students to pursue their neuroscience curriculum.

Congratulations to all awardees!

← Back to listing